top of page

The Ridiculously Easy, Ridiculously Long Scarf


Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease worsted weight in Pumpkin, approx. 3 skeins

Hook size: L/8.00mm

Difficulty: Ridiculously Easy

Start out by chaining as many chains as you would like until you reach the desired length for your scarf. I ended up chaining until I got tired, then chained a few more and it came out to 374 chains (I like REALLY long scarfs so I can wrap them around my neck many times.) Just make sure whatever you end up with is an even number of chains. When you have checked yourself out in the mirror a couple times with the skinny thing wound around your neck and decide that you are happy with your length...

Row 1: DC in 3rd chain from hook and in each chain across. Ch 3, turn.

Row 2: (Ch 3 counts as 1st DC + 1st ch 1) DC in 3rd DC, ch 1, and skip a DC *DC in next DC, ch 1 and skip a DC* Repeat between ** until you get to the end of the row. Ch 2, turn.

Row 3: (Ch 2 counts as 1st DC) *DC in back loop of ch 1, DC in back loop of next DC.* Repeat across. Ch 3, turn. (I did not like the look of DCing into the ch 1 space because it made that area bulky, so I chose to go through the back loops only. This is up to you.)

Row 4: Repeat row 2. Continue on alternating between rows 2 and 3 until you reach your desired width. I ended up making 6 rows of solid DC and 5 rows of the "holey" DC in between, ending with a solid DC row. Finish off and weave in ends.

For the tassels: Decide on the length of your tassel. Mine were approximately 7" long. Double that number and cut out 7 strands the length of your doubled number (I had 7, 14-inch strands.) Grab all strands together and fold in half at the middle point. Using a crochet hook, draw all 7 strands at the fold through the end of the scarf between the 1st and 2nd DC of a solid DC row, pulling through only about an inch to make a loop. Grab all the ends of the folded strands and pull them all the way through the loop, pulling taut. Repeat this process for each tassel; I made a tassel for every solid DC row so I ended up with 6 tassels on each end of the scarf. (That was my best attempt at trying to describe how to make a tassel. This link has an excellent video for those of you who are more visual learners: http://video.about.com/crochet/How-to-Crochet--Adding-Fringe-to-a-Scarf.htm)

Thats it! Enjoy.

**Please do not reproduce this pattern without crediting me or providing a link to my site. Thanks!


bottom of page