top of page

Easy Circle Crochet Doily


This pattern is based on the Large Hipster Doily pattern found here: http: //www.crochetspot.com/crochet-pattern-large-hipster-doily/

I liked the way the first few rounds looked, so I continued in that fashion as opposed to the star-like pattern that Erin created. I also wanted a thicker doily so I went with a worsted weight yarn—goes against everything doily, I know.

This is my first pattern, so feel free to comment. Also, gauge is not important, but my finished piece measures about 9 inches across.

Yarn:Lily Sugar ‘n Cream-Hot Green; approx 60 yds

Hook size: E/4-3.5mm

Difficulty:Super Easy

Round1: ch 8, sl st to first ch to form a ring. (8 ch)

Round2: ch 3 (counts as 1st dc throughout) 19 more dc into ring, sl st totop of ch 3. (20 dc)

Round3: ch 3 (counts as 1st dc and ch 1 throughout) *dc in next dc, ch 1. Repeatfrom * around, sl st to top of ch 3. (20 dc, 20 ch)

Round4: ch 3, dc in next ch-1 sp *dc in next dc, 2 dc in next ch 1 sp. Repeat from *around, sl st to top of ch 3. (60 dc)

Round5: ch 3 *dc in next dc, ch 1, edit: AND SKIP NEXT DC. Repeat from * around, sl st to top of ch 3. (30dc, 30 ch)

Round6: ch 3, dc in next ch 1 sp *dc in next dc, 2 dc in next ch 1 sp. Repeat from *around, sl st to top of ch 3. (90 dc)

Round7: ch 3, *dc in next dc, ch 1, AND SKIP NEXT DC. Repeat from * around, sl st to top of ch 3. (45dc, 45 ch)

Round8: ch 3, dc in next ch 1 sp *dc in next dc, 2 dc in next ch 1 sp. Repeat from *around, sl st to top of ch 3. (135 dc)

Finish off and weave in ends.

(You could continue in this fashion if you wanted a bigger doily.)

edit note: I just recently realized a big mistake in the original pattern, and have now corrected this in all caps. For those of you who were confused, I am so sorry. It now reads correctly that in the 5th and 7th rows, you SKIP A DC WHEN YOU DO THE CH 1. Therefore, the original counts may have seemed off, but they were actually correct. Hopefully this will allow for less curling for those of you who had this issue.. please message me if you have any questions.

**Please do not reproduce this pattern without crediting me. Thanks!


bottom of page